The Royal Danish Orchestra

The Royal Danish Orchestra

The Worlds oldest orchestral institution

Engelsk udgave af Det Kongelige Kapel

Pris: 350,00 kr.
Read more

With its 566 years, The Royal Danish Orchestra is the world’s oldest orchestral institution. It started out as a trumpeter corps, and today it is an opera and symphony orchestra based at the Royal Opera in Copenhagen.

Its long history is told in short, independent sections centred on the musicians: to date, 1,062 have been employed in the orchestra. Among them, we discover colourful individuals sometimes also working as officers, entertainers and envoys for their employers who were the Danish kings until 1849. Its members included world famous composers such as John Dowland, Heinrich Schütz, Niels W. Gade and Carl Nielsen.

The book is liberally illustrated with a selection of the treasures of art that surround The Royal Danish Orchestra, presenting its everyday-life as well as its members. There are paintings and drawings by artists such as C.W. Eckersberg, Louis Aumont, P.S. Krøyer, Michael Ancher, Erik Henningsen, Carlo Rosberg, Harald Isenstein and Henrik Bloch. Many of their works are here published for the first time.

About the authors

Troels Svendsen: Violinist in The Royal Danish Orchestra 1966–87; member of Collegium Musicum, Copenhagen, and the Orchestra of the 18th Century playing the baroque violin. Founder of the baroque ensemble, Violon-Banden, which is Rosenborg Castle’s ensemble in residence. During 1981–2003 he was employed at the Danish Radio, and from 2003 to 2009 worked as programme editor for The Royal Danish Orchestra. Author of Historiske Strygeinstrumenter & Biber og Telemann, 1988, and teacher in music communication at The Royal Danish Academy of Music.

Mogens AndresenBass trombone player in the Danish Royal Orchestra 1974–1988, and member of Collegium Musicum, Copenhagen. In 1988 he was appointed professor of brass instruments at The Royal Danish Academy of Music teaching ensemble direction and music communication. Member of Violon-Banden, and co-founder of Royal Danish Brass, Dania Brass, and Dania Big Band. He is the author of Historiske messingblæseinstrumenter, 1988, co-author of Kunst at puste / Breath Building, 1994 (in Danish and English) and Basunskole, 1977. He is also a composer and arranger.

English instructions for purchase

Write to: or call +45 77 66 60 00 to put in a direct order


Click “Køb” (top right on this page, directly under the book cover)

Then click “Indkøbskurv” (top right, directly above the book cover) and click: “Gå til betaling”.

Click “Næste”

Click “Direkte til kassen”

Fill in the form: first name (Fornavn), last name (Efternavn), address (Adresse), Zip Code (Postnummer), City (By), Country (Land) – State (Stat/Provins), and email (E-mail-adresse). Then click “Næste”.

Click “Kreditkort/Dankort”

Tick the box to accept conditions of sale. Click “Bekræft”

You will now be transferred to a secure server, where you can put in your card details. Then click “Gennemfør betaling”.

You will receive an invoice to your email address when the transaction is completed.

The Royal Danish Orchestra - The Worlds oldest orchestral institution
Mogens Andresen & Troels Svendsen
Edited by Inger Sørensen
1. udgave 2014
ISBN: 9788712050537
Antal sider: 280 pages, Illustrated
Pris: 350,00 kr.
Udgivelsesdato: 01-08-2014

Published by The Royal Danisk Orchestral Association
In commission at Gad Publishers

Lignende bog